where did I leave off last?

It’s been awhile since I last communicated through WordPress. To the few who try and follow this blog for information, I apologise. I will try and continue at where I last left off. The last time I posted here, I mentioned that we were in Nha Trang so I will give my account of events from there and so forth….

I believe the last thing I mentioned was our group going to celebrate for a number of reasons, including Joss’ successful completion of her PADI course and Rosie and I successfully landing jobs with the Asian International School. That evening, we had dinner at an amazing small place. We ordered Thai, Vietnamese, and Italian cuisine and kicked back with some Saigon (green) beers that costed about $0.50 a bottle.

After dinner, a wonderful thing happened when we were going to find a bar to hang out at. When you wander the streets in the backpackers’ district in Nha Trang at night, bar staff will run out to the streets and try to get you to go into their bar. They will say anything and advertise their bar as the best place to relax. They might even dance or sing and say the most hilarious things to you. It’s quite the experience and I personally love it. Tonight, however, we witnessed something new. Jason was strolling by a bar when he decides to stop and chat a bit. A little Vietnamese man comes up swiftly behind him and hugs him tight. Meanwile, the hugger’s coworker is trying to convince us to stop in for a drink at their bar. But the friendly coercing doesn’t stop there. The little Vietnamese man hugging Jason from behind grabs Jason’s groin and starts massaging his package. None of us really realized it until Jason said nonchalantly, “Oh, he’s grabbing my balls” or something similar to that effect. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture or video of the event as I was too busy laughing and wondering what the hell was going on. Big ups to Jason for staying calm and not freaking out. Despite the friendly chat and the second-base action Jason received, we politely declined their invitation and kept strolling. Jason didn’t even look at his mystery lover in the face – their relationship remained faceless and anonymous. In the end, we settled at the Oasis bar and restaurant. The rest of that night can be found summarized in the previous post.

We all had a rough morning the following day and got together for breakfast at 11:00am. We all ordered the “Hangover Breakfast” (no joke, that’s what it’s called there) at a nearby place. The name of the place escapes me but the breakfast consisted of bread, eggs, coffee, and juice. For about $2 CAD, it was just what we needed to get the day going.

After breakfast, we tried to get a night boat cruise going… the kind that serves unlimited food and drinks for $20 CAD. Unfortunately, we didn’t have enough people committed to secure a cruise around Nha Trang. You need about 15 people while our group was only Erika, Jason, Katie, Joss, Rosie and myself. It kinda sucks but I know I’ll be back in the near future to take advantage of this deal. Factor in the $15 CAD beautiful train ride up north to this beachside town and I think it’s quite the package.

Anyway, for the rest of our last day in Nha Trang, we hung out out and got surprisingly decent poutine for lunch at the dive centre where Joss got her certificate. For dinner, we capped our stay off by spoiling ourselves at the Sandals Restaurant owned by the Sailing Club of Nha Trang. My dinner was about $25 CAD and included a glass of milk coffee, a glass of shiraz from Australia, sesame seared raw tuna appetizer, and goat curry with basmati rice.  A dinner of this calibre would probably cost me between $60-80 in Toronto.

After dinner, we call caught the overnight train to head back to Saigon. Since a lot has happened since Nha Trang, I’ll conclude the Nha Trang portion here. I will post a few photos taken on my iPhone in the following post.

I’m currently working on a video as well so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

