Nha Trang, I’m back.

I’m trying to write more of my essay for my TESOL class in Nha Trang as I currently write this brief blog post. It’s due at the end of the month. Along with another 1,500 word paper on motivation and how to get children in a classroom environment motivated to learn English. I guess you could say I’m screwed. You could also say I shouldn’t be in Nha Trang. No big deal.

The reason Rosie and I are in Nha Trang (one of the party capitals of Vietnam) is because Erika Kanduth and her three friends, Joss, Kate, and Jason, are also in Vietnam. We wanted to rendezvous and have a good time together so we did so this weekend in Nha Trang. It’s also a good time to come together and celebrate because Rosie and I secured our first teaching job at the International Primary School of the Asian International School. We get evenings and weekends off. Best case scenario. If we had gotten jobs at language centres (which is also good and can pay quite well), the bulk of our teaching hours would be in the evenings and weekends.

Anyway, the weather in Nha Trang is great. It’s a great leave from the smokey city and the fresh sea breeze is definitely a big welcome. The only downside of this are the two papers (each 1,500 words) that Rosie and I have to hand in by the end of this month. Along with two more teaching practices where we have to plan for the four remaining hours of teaching we have to do as part of the TESOL program. It’ll all be done in the end but I’m sweating a bit right now. It’s why I’ve locked myself in my hotel room for a couple hours to hammer out a few more paragraphs. I may walk down to a local beachside cafe to continue my work but I’m not sure if that would be a good idea.

Here’s a picture of where we were lazing about enjoying several cold $0.50 beers yesterday.

Image

I’ll throw up some pictures and a short video when I’m home and not getting boned by coursework slash teaching practices.

Leave a Reply

